Skip to content

Welcome and hello

March 23, 2010

Hello! Welcome to my blog.  The idea here is to have a place for my family and friends to see what I’m up to on the other side of the planet.

For anyone that doesn’t know me, my name is Jonathan Kramer, I was born and raised in Miami, Florida and in 2009 I graduated from Florida State University with a B.S. in Information Technology.  During the long, defeating process of searching for a job after graduating, I applied for an English teaching job in Japan with a company called Interac on a whim.  One thing led to another, and come April I’ll be an Assistant Language Teacher to elementary and junior high school students in Fuji City, Japan for a year.

Fuji City's location in Japan

Fuji City's location in Japan

I don’t really know a whole lot about Fuji City, but this is what I do know.

– It’s located at the base of Mt. Fuji.
– Has a population of roughly 250,000, almost 100,000 more than Tallahassee, Florida.
– A two and a half hour train ride to Tokyo.
– Primarily a paper manufacturing and Tangerine farming town.

A view of Fuji City

A view of Fuji City

So, to wrap things up, here are answers to some questions I get all the time about this move.

Why are you doing this?
Why not?  I love traveling and for some reason I really want to visit Japan.

Do you speak Japanese?
Nope

How are you going to teach than?
Well, I’m an assistant to an actual fully-fledged English teacher who will be fluent in both languages.

Have you ever been there before?
I had a 3 hour layover in Tokyo-Narita on my way to Thailand, does that count?

Do you know anyone else living in Japan or doing the same thing you are?
No, not really.

Are you excited?
Of course!

If have any questions for me, you can send an e-mail to kramersemail@gmail.com

4 Comments
  1. Roig permalink
    March 28, 2010 12:57 pm

    Lovin the blog. Long time listener first time caller. Please update day of arrival. I need to see the floor I will be crashing on.

  2. Grandma & Papa permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:49 am

    Jonathan, Papa says he is very impressed at your staements on your blog. Keep them coming. We are so proud of you. We love you very much.
    Grandma & Papa

  3. April 12, 2010 11:24 am

    That’s a hilarious comment from Roig. He should practice by sleeping in his closet.
    We’d love to see pictures of you and your new students. Maybe we can all be penpals!!
    Love you, Jon! 🙂

  4. brenda beason permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:05 pm

    johnathan,
    I am a teacher in St. augustine florida and I am in the process of writing a paper for a class regarding comprative studies in the eduction system. My assignment I need to interview a student who has been schooled in other country. I do not have any students that match that criteria in my middle school. I stumbled across your website and far very interesting. Do you think it’s possible if i send you the interview questions to give to a student or perhaps you can answer. I certainly can use only his first name,initials or just a make up a name to protect his identity.
    1. I was wondering about special need students in the classroom.
    2. The student teacher interaction in the classroom (formal, informal)
    3. How is the curriculm
    4. Describe a typical day in the classroom
    5. How long is school in session?

Comments are closed.

