Skip to content

Do Japanese women wear Kimonos?

October 22, 2010

My Grandfather wrote in with the following:

Wondering if the females [in Japan] still wear kimonos as they did 50 years ago or so, or is it mostly western style clothes these days? The kimonos were very colorful; also, they wore sandal type footwear of different elevation on their feet.

Most Japanese people, especially adults and young children, wear clothes that are fairly indistinguishable from what you would see back in the United States and most other Western countries.  Kimonos are almost only worn on special occasions: weddings, festivals, or anything that has ties to traditional Japan.  I rarely ever see them, coincidentally on my way home yesterday I drove past a group of three women in Kimonos  walking on the sidewalk, and yes they did have the sandals.

Here’s a pictures of me with some teachers from my school during the Yoshiwara Gion Festival.  They are wearing “Yukata” which is a light summer style Kimono.

Nevermind my ridiculous wind-swept hair.

Also, I’ll note that men do also wear Kimonos under similar circumstances, however they are typically much more conservative in style with more solid colors.

As always, if you have any questions leave a comment or send an e-mail to kramersemail@gmail.com

3 Comments
  1. jason permalink
    December 7, 2010 8:15 am

    “Here’s a pictures of me with some teachers from my school during the Yoshiwara Gion Festival. They are wearing “Yukata” which is a light summer style Kimono.”

    I have to ask, I lived in the Fukuoka area for 2 years and I have never saw the tongue stuck out between the two fingers as a Japanese expression. I know that has a meaning in America…. Just wanted to know if that is something you taught her. Either way its hilarious. Going back to visit in late December again. Gotta love Japan. So rich in culture. Take care.

    Jason

    • December 7, 2010 3:03 pm

      Nope, nothing I taught her. I actually had no idea she was doing that until later, not entirely sure she knows the connotation.

Trackbacks

  1. A Kimono in the Wild « KRMR: Jonathan Kramer's Weblog

Comments are closed.

