Skip to content

A Kamakura Day-trip

December 15, 2010

Saturday, I went for another little day-trip over to Kamakura.

Kamakura is a small (pop. ~170,000) town about 60 kilometers/40 miles from Tokyo, or an hour by train.

It absolutely has a beach town feel, with plenty of surfboards, faux-VW vans and a slight obsession with Hawaii.

Soon after getting off my train, I stopped into Kua-Aina, a Hawaiian based sandwich chain.  I ate a Mahi-Mahi sandwich with American cheese on a Kaiser roll.  It was heavenly.  ¥1,100 ($13) of heavenly.

But by far the biggest draw that Kamakura has is its Great Buddha.

Built in the 1200s, it’s withstood a tsunami and one of Japan’s biggest earthquakes.  It truly is beautiful.

Inside the Great Buddha

A 360-degree view of the famous statue.

Another popular spot in Kamakura is the Buddhist temple Haser-dera.

The NHK's (Japan's BBC) mascot made up to look like the famous statue.

Kamakura was a great, short little day-trip; made home in time for dinner.

3 Comments
  1. Teri Murphy Barone permalink
    December 15, 2010 10:06 pm

    Hi Jon,

    We love looking at your blog and your photos are always so beautiful! What kind of camera do you have? I’m looking for a good one.

    This Buddha looks like the one I’ve seen in photos that Papa has from when he was over there in the war. Wonder if it’s the same one?

    We missed you at Thanksgiving this year…. It wasn’t the same with out you.

    With love,
    Aunt Teri and Uncle Richard

    • December 16, 2010 4:38 pm

      Thanks! My camera is a Canon 550D.

      It is indeed the same Buddha that he went and saw when he was here. One of the reasons I went was at his insistance.

      I definitely missed Thanksgiving dinner, but I’ll be there for Christmas dinner!

  2. Mom permalink
    December 19, 2010 9:37 pm

    Jon, some more beautiful photos of which I’d love to print and frame!!!

Comments are closed.

